Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Reply
Author: Subject: Silly new car owner
AlexS

posted on 21/3/06 at 07:54 PM Reply With Quote
Silly new car owner

I dont really know where to post, so I'll put it in here. Im mid way through fixing my first ever kit car (yep a dutton but despite the reputation they seem to have I like em and dont have the money for a brand new kit )

Obviously im very new to a lot of the topics you guys talk about but i try to keep up, but what is this megasquirt and megajolt you keep talking about?Im guessing some sort of fuel injection and ignition system?Could you explain (like your talking to a 4 year old) a bit more?cost?how good are they?and are they difficult to fit?

Im runnin a 1600Xflow on 32/36 webers with a k&n, nice runner, would like to get a little bit more out of it, without just swapping it for a 2l pinto (i dont know enough about what im doing to take that task on yet)

Any help very much appreciated

jonno

posted on 21/3/06 at 08:07 PM Reply With Quote
nothing wrong with a dutton matey , have a look in the Fuel injection / EFI section also search for megasquirt (fuel & spark control) and megajolt (spark only) soz cannot help any more just yet, i keep looking about this stuff thou
AlexS

posted on 21/3/06 at 08:35 PM Reply With Quote
Haha i knew there had to be another dutton owner somewhere on here

btw you have U2U

AlexS

posted on 21/3/06 at 09:37 PM Reply With Quote
Okay dokey, have trawled the forum search about megajolt/squirt. Have a good idea what it does now, but still a bit confused over the fitting and setting - is it a big job?I mean I am not exactly experienced with engines...

It looks pretty daunting, what sort of money would it cost to have some fit one?house is on the market so I dont want the car off the road for too long, especially if its stuck in my garage!

Chippy

posted on 21/3/06 at 11:58 PM Reply With Quote