Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Traction control
RichardB123

posted on 19/9/19 at 03:36 PM Reply With Quote
Traction control

I would like to ask if anyone is using a traction control system on their kit car?

Thanks
Richard

nick205

posted on 19/9/19 at 04:09 PM Reply With Quote
I didn't on my MK Indy it was simply brain, foot and engine.

I'd imagine to tansfer traction control from a tin top donor to a 7 type car might be hard work. The setup would probably need re-calibrating to take account of the difference in vehicle mass and power to weight ratio.

There may be IVA constraints/considerations around it as well.

[Edited on 19/9/19 by nick205]

coyoteboy

posted on 19/9/19 at 04:27 PM Reply With Quote
I intend to be running it, but only fairly dumb - checking rear wheel speeds vs front wheel speeds and cutting timing if one goes >10% slip. I have no experience in fitting it to an actual car though, and I suspect it kind of goes against the grain for most folk.

Angel Acevedo

posted on 19/9/19 at 04:46 PM Reply With Quote
As far as I know, Production Car Traction control uses ABS sensors and braking system adding weight and complexity to a car that is supposed to be light and simple.
What is the purpose of using traction control?
Learning?
Safety?
Bragging Rights?
I used to have a Series One BMW, whenever while playing I abused the happy pedal on marginal traction surfaces, I ended up with overheating pads and disks.
I reckon wise use of the happy pedal will take care of most slippery driving conditions.
Coyoteboy approach sounds simple enough and does not involve ABS braking... So it may be a good start.
All of the above not to deter you from trying...
Regards
AA

Beware of what you wish.. for it may come true....

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
gaz_gaz

posted on 19/9/19 at 04:48 PM Reply With Quote