Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Dash Instruments Advice
ianr

posted on 15/12/05 at 01:45 PM Reply With Quote
Dash Instruments Advice

I have a 1600 xflow engine with the original dials on. As I am replacing my dash I would also like to get some new dials so I can arrange them in a minimal way.

I was initially thinking of using a one of those digi dashs for all readings for space saving and neatness. (As I would like a flat clutter free dash)

I would appreciate any pointers for instruments people have bought.

At the moment it is used for road use only.

Does anybody know if this can be done at a reasonable price and effort on the xflow ? Am i likely to have to replace all senders etc.

Also i would like to attempt this myself, given that i am a novice but can follow instructions and have a bit of common sense! Is this straight forward job or is this likely to be involved and require in depth knowledge ?

[Edited on 15/12/05 by ianr]

zzrpowerd-locost

posted on 15/12/05 at 02:05 PM Reply With Quote
Veypor is a good

http://www.veypor.com/carveypor.html

Big Stu

posted on 15/12/05 at 02:17 PM Reply With Quote
I just got an etb digidash which is excellant. Does everything I want and more and cost about the same as a full set of new dials plus wiring is easy.
donut

posted on 15/12/05 at 03:43 PM Reply With Quote
This is my set up. Very minimalist and no tacho, just shift lights.

[img][/img]

Andy

When I die, I want to go peacefully like my Grandfather did, in his sleep -- not screaming, like the passengers in his car.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/andywest1/

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
esn163

posted on 15/12/05 at 05:01 PM Reply With Quote
Hi,

Are they smiths gauges you used donut?
We're thinking about possibly using some on ours. How difficult were they to fit if they are?

Ed

[Edited on 15/12/05 by esn163]