Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Noob question regarding mortgages?
PSpirine

posted on 26/1/11 at 06:53 PM Reply With Quote
Noob question regarding mortgages?

Evening all,

I'm fairly new to the whole housebuying thing - bought my first house in February last year.

I got a £100k mortgage (now outstanding down to £97k) with HSBC - it's a variable lifetime tracker, and is at 2.29% + Base

With my LTV, at the moment HSBC are offering 1.99% + Base until the 6th of february with No Fee.

Is it possible for me to request to effectively take out this new mortgage under offer to replace my old one? My current one has no exit fee. As this one has no fee I cannot see why I *wouldn't* want to transfer to it as all it does is take my interest down by .2% (which might help offset the impending base rate increases!)

Just thought I'd check whether this is possible or done before I go to a branch (none local!)

Cheers,

Pavs

RAYLEE29

posted on 26/1/11 at 07:06 PM Reply With Quote
If im reading it right and they are both with the same company should be a simple phone call to arrange it.
just make sure you dont have to pay any charges which might negate the advantage of the savings with the lower rate.
also check the tie ins and get outs in case you want to move it again.
Ray
ps no expert just changed a few times with the same provider

[Edited on 26/1/11 by RAYLEE29]

blakep82

posted on 26/1/11 at 07:09 PM Reply With Quote
yeah, if there's no arrangement fee on the new one, and no 'temination fee' or early redemption charge (ERC) as i know them, on the current one, a simple phone call will get it sorted for you. you'll probs need some papers sent out to sign, but thats it.