Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Help choosing a Mig welder
JSG89

posted on 13/6/15 at 04:23 PM Reply With Quote
Help choosing a Mig welder

Hi,

I have spent hours searching the web and still have no idea...

I'm looking for a Mig Welder. Around the £200-£250 max mark.

I have been looking at Clarke MIG 145 No-Gas/Gas MIG Welder as its closer to what I would like to spend.

I'm very new to welding. Will be using it to build my chassis and other bits for my Locost.

Any thoughts would be gratefully received!

Thanks in advance.

Oldaker

posted on 13/6/15 at 06:28 PM Reply With Quote
I had a Sealey mig welder for about 26 years until it died. It was excellent for a home user. I replaced it with a cheap Wolf Mig and at first regretted it as the wire feed didn't seem as good as the Sealey one. Now, however, after using it quite a bit recently, I find it works perfectly. For a cheap welder , it is great value and produces some good welds. Forget no-gas - horrible messy welds. I only weld mild steel and I always use Argon/CO2 mix - far better results than using plain CO2. With any new welder, they take a bit of time to get used to the settings - this was the trouble I had between the Sealey and Wolf - I had got the Sealey worked out and could set it up quickly to weld different thickness steel, but it took a while to get the hang of the settings on the Wolf.
cliftyhanger

posted on 13/6/15 at 07:01 PM Reply With Quote
I have been very happy with teh 2 clarke migs I have owned, not so happy with the SIP......

130-140 amp should do all you want, I got the 151 gasless. I like gasless as it is easier to use outside and is less fussy on difficult to clean metal (ie my old cars) but gas mig will be a little tidier. And no flux residue to clean off. Big bottles a must though......

tegwin

posted on 13/6/15 at 07:25 PM Reply With Quote