Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: MSVA trike lighting question
dan8400

posted on 30/4/18 at 06:40 AM Reply With Quote
MSVA trike lighting question

Hi everyone,

I am wiring my reverse trike and am using 99% of the bike wiring loom. I am basically extending all the wires from the loom to the dash area for new switches etc.

Question is: the bike lights come on with ignition. Is this ok for MSVA? Should I rewire this? Or is it ok to have side lights/headlights come on with ignition (like an old Volvo)

Any thoughts?

Thanks
Dan

Hey - That's Journey!!!

dan8400

posted on 9/5/18 at 08:59 AM Reply With Quote
Does anybody know the answer?

Thanks
Dan

Hey - That's Journey!!!

russbost

posted on 1/8/18 at 06:32 PM Reply With Quote
Hi Dan, I'm new to the Trike regs, but having read the MSVA manual so far as I can see there is no requirement to be able to switch sidelamps separately, in other words, no requirement for a parking light. When sidelights are turned on (with ignition if that's how they are) the way I read it is that they must all be illuminated, front & rear & that includes the no. plate light & that they should operate a tell tale light, OR the instrument lights are always on when sidelamps are lit.

You may of course decide you'd like to have parking lights in which case a switch from a permanent feed could be put into the sidelight circuit, just add a diode in the ignition live wire so it can't back feed to the ignition

I no longer run Furore Products or Furore Cars Ltd, but would still highly recommend them for Acewell dashes, projector headlights, dominator headlights, indicators, mirrors etc, best prices in the UK! Take a look at http://www.furoreproducts.co.uk/ or find more parts on Ebay, user names furoreltd & furoreproducts, discounts available for LCB users.