<<  1    2  >>
New Topic New Reply
Author: Subject: Build time
andybird

posted on 14/8/18 at 02:25 PM Reply With Quote
Build time

Hi all

Been lurking for a while.

Just about to start a haynes type car but my question is, presuming I am a competent mechanic but beginner welder how long would you think it will take to build? Ie hours?

nick205

posted on 14/8/18 at 02:38 PM Reply With Quote
A few questions first....

Are you buying a pre cut set of chassis parts to weld together?

Do you have the necessary tools already or will you have to stop and buy them?

Are you working alone on the project (helpers can or can't speed things up)?

Do you have suitable workspace available at home or will you have to travel to it?

I ask out of interest as I built an MK Indy kit. Started building in my parents garage, but live 13 miles away so travel to and from took up some time. My dad restores cars as a hobby so I had good access to tools and materials (brake pipe flairing tools etc.). All these little factors can play a significant factor in how long things take.

Don't let anmy of that put you off though - for me it was massively rewarding both in terms of learning and the end result

jps

posted on 14/8/18 at 03:18 PM Reply With Quote
I would say it's impossible to even guess in advance.
For example: I never thought it would take me 3 hours to deburr/countersink the 140 odd rivet holes in my floor panel. Or over an hour to get the viscous fan off my Pinto!

Depends massively on the specifics of your build and circumstances.

I would say that you could find (as I have) that things change as you go about doing a job. Fitting my GRP panels for example involved me cutting more off than I expected, so I effectively did the job about 3 times over...

andybird

posted on 14/8/18 at 03:27 PM Reply With Quote
Hi thanks for the response.

I have all the tools apart from a welder which I will be buying prior to commencement.