Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Reply
Author: Subject: Noob here considering SSC Stylus engine upgrade options...
jjams82

posted on 12/7/20 at 10:41 AM Reply With Quote
Noob here considering SSC Stylus engine upgrade options...

Hello folks. New kit car owner, and new forum member here.

There's a lot of sub-forums here, I hope I hit the mark close enough.

I've a couple friends on here already, and was pointed in this direction by the one who mentioned "Fisher Fury" to me when we first met, making simple car chat in Grenoble (I think) airport. He planted that seed, until it grew and grew, and eventually he's partaking in the longest most stressful nearly-fishtailed-the-gf's-fabia-into-motorway type series of calamities. All set off by my complete idiocy and greater concentration on the beautiful thing I now own that's on a trailer in front of me, than the road. Long story. I guess you reap what you sow eh, thanks again Adi.

I must admit this is partly just a "hey guys, what's up in this forum? Nice to meet y'all" type post, but I thought I'd make it useful as well.

I've a 1700 crossflow with a single webber and the skinny little 4 branch manifold from whatever, but otherwise stock. It's a hoot, a giggle, but as it was such a complete garage queen for the last 12 years, only 800 miles since SVA, it isn't running quite as it should. That's one for another day though. Perhaps today actually.

My main actual question is.....

When I want nearly twice the power (already do, but going to enjoy it a while first) I know the easy simple noob-friendly solution answer will be "zetec on webers*". There's got to be a million documented cases of these going into kit cars, but I can't seem to find a concise this-is-how-I-did-it type posts about the place, or many details of what stays and what goes, what you need from a donor and what you don't.