Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: My indyblade battery trouble
polomouth

posted on 7/1/16 at 12:20 PM Reply With Quote
My indyblade battery trouble

Afternoon people, it's that's time of year again when I want to get my car up to scratch for the coming spring. I'm ok with the spanners but I'm no mechanic either and as for electrics,there really not my strong point at all. My question for you is whilst my indyblade is running being driven normally without any lights or anything else switched on it runs fine but as soon as I need to switch my lights on the voltage drops and the low voltage light flashes consistently at me on the digi dash and from memory it drops to 11. Something volts. I currently have a Varta fireblade specific model battery fitted and it's always kept connected up to the optimate charger. I have a digidash and savage switches to power up and that's it. My thinking is maybe I just need to fit a bigger battery maybe but I don't want to go and spend money on a new battery if that's not the cause of the problem. Thanks in advance for any advise given.

Regard Gaz

SJ

posted on 7/1/16 at 12:48 PM Reply With Quote
You woould expect voltage to drop when the lights go on. 11v would be low for a CEC though. What happens when you rev up, does the voltage rise and light go off?
gremlin1234

posted on 7/1/16 at 12:48 PM Reply With Quote
sounds like a fault in the charging (alternator) circuit.
polomouth

posted on 7/1/16 at 01:00 PM Reply With Quote
Engine speed doesn't make any difference to volt readout its always around 11 volts ish. When I turn my lights on all of the savage switches are illuminated on the dash as well. Maybe the size of battery isn't man enough to cope with the draw of power?
nick205

posted on 7/1/16 at 01:18 PM Reply With Quote