Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: R1 Rad design?
nitram38

posted on 16/2/07 at 12:30 AM Reply With Quote
R1 Rad design?

Because of my new design, I want to have an Aluminium Radiator made.
Because of Chassis restraints I can only get a core 256 X 334 X 50.
An 8" Fan will fit and the rad will be at the front of the car (rear engine).
Do you think it will be big enough to cope?

Radiator solidworks
Radiator solidworks

[Edited on 16/2/2007 by nitram38]

coozer

posted on 16/2/07 at 07:08 AM Reply With Quote
Unless your putting a divider up the middle of the rad how will the coolant flow with both inlet and outlet next to each other?

[Edited on 16/2/07 by coozer]

1972 V8 Jago

1980 Z750

Ivan

posted on 16/2/07 at 07:26 AM Reply With Quote
I presume there's a divider between the two pipes.

Although I am no expert I think the radiator is marginal and you will need to do everything you can to optimise cooling:

1. Move the pipes outwards to the centre of each half of the tank to obtain the best possible flow distribution across the core.

2. Get as much air flow as possible around the connector pipes to assist in cooling - paint them black to increase radiation.

3. Make sure the radiator vents well.

4. Heat transfer is a function of Time raised to the power of 4 so the more time the water spends in the system from leaving the engine to getting back the cooler it will be. i.e. large delivery pipes with flow turbulence making fences will help.

5. Get the air flow through the radiator optimised i.e. radiator tilted slightly.

6. Could concider a water mister spray on the radiator for traffic jams

7. Only drive in mid winter and into the wind when it's raining

If you have no option but to use this size why not suck it and see - if it doesn't work then go to plan B which is some of the above.

[Edited on 16/2/07 by Ivan]

G.Man

posted on 16/2/07 at 07:53 AM Reply With Quote
what about the side pods?