Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Are BECs reliable for daily road use??
Alez

posted on 11/9/03 at 04:38 PM Reply With Quote
Are BECs reliable for daily road use??

Greetings!

I'm very new to these, but I'm already very impressed with the performance to price figures you can get from these.. "cars"?

What worries me a bit, from my absolute lack of experience, is reliability. The concern comes from the fact that these engines have been designed to pull the weight of a bike, which is say half? of the weight of these locosts. It is clear that you won't be asking for 100% the power you can get from one of these for more than very short "bursts", but still you will be asking for a lot more than a biker. From an engine design point of view, this may not mean overstress for the engine (the engine may have been designed to withstand high power in steady operation) but still it could mean higher maintenance.

Does this result in a significantly increased maintenance costs and hassle, compared to a car engined locost or a reliable sports bike like the Honda Fireblade? It would be great to have some feedback from you guys who have been driving these beasts for a while now.

Thanks!

Alex

Jon Ison

posted on 11/9/03 at 07:02 PM Reply With Quote
6000 + miles, thrashed its balls of, no problems, no oil leaks, nothing, looked after they are pretty bomb proof.....

20min thrash on a track day, come in n she sits there purring asking for more whilst the boy racers are lifting there bonnets and gettin coverd in steam.

loafersmate

posted on 11/9/03 at 07:45 PM Reply With Quote
I'll second that, done about 2000 miles since July and it's never missed a beat. Don't forget that once they are rolling you don't use the clutch and because the acceleration comes from high revs not torque the stresses the engine sees are probably less than in a pinto (that ought to stir up a frenzy )

Cheers

Ben

Alez