Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Sierra engines
exmerlin2001

posted on 12/9/02 at 09:29 PM Reply With Quote
Sierra engines

Hi to everyone, I'm a thinkIwannabee a Locost builder- not too sure, yet. This has probably been asked before, can the injected 2 litre Sierra engine fit in either the book, MK, Stuart Taylor,et al, chassis. This appears to be the cheapest way to get a reasonable amount of power straight from the box- or am I being too naive?
I quite fancy building a one off car, a little larger than the Locost, but the availability of relatively cheap chassis would cut the time down considerably- and it is a classic design...........
I intended to visit Donington this weekend, but now find I can't! Don't ask!!! So I'll just have to plague you all with questions......
Albert

scutter

posted on 13/9/02 at 07:34 AM Reply With Quote
exmerlin2001, you don't say if you are able to weld, if so Jim Mcsorleys site (it's in the links) has plans for wider,longer or taller chassis that will help fit you and your engine.

There's nothing like the satisfaction of saying "i built that".

Power wise the engines going to be good for 115/125hp, which is good enough to see off most road cars.

Hope that helps a little, Take care Dan.

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
James

posted on 13/9/02 at 10:58 AM Reply With Quote
I'm using the 2.0i Pinto engine- you want this as opposed to the dual-overhead cam version. The only problem with it is it's a heavy beast and far too tall, especially in standard injection form.

Almost without doubt you'll want to strip off the injection manifold and fit side-draft carbs. Otherwise you'll never fit it under the bonnet- you'll also want to consider moving the oil filler to the back of the tappet cover.