Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Help. New to all this (donor car request)
thumper

posted on 27/9/02 at 12:57 PM Reply With Quote
Help. New to all this (donor car request)

Hi all, i am completely new to the locost car building game having, spent many years tinkering with cars thought I would build my own. Is a Vauxhall Nova any good as a donor car as I have one lying around with a few Astra GTE bits as well for good measure. Any thoughts if I can utilise. Help ta!!!
Findlay234

posted on 27/9/02 at 01:19 PM Reply With Quote
you see the thing is that you need a rwd donor really. nova and astra are fwd. you can use bits from those cars but youll need to find a propshaft, gearbox and axle elsewhere, just buy a sierra, its all you basically need.
thumper

posted on 27/9/02 at 01:28 PM Reply With Quote
Thanks, I know I need the rear axle and propshaft etc, trying to save costs and use the suspension and steering etc from the nova, I have it lying around wondered wether it was re usable, including poncey things like the digi dash from an astra I aslo have 2 1.3 engines. seems a shame to waste especially when i have fast road cam and twin choke carbs for them, could mod the ford gearbox to go on a 1.3? etc
James

posted on 27/9/02 at 03:05 PM Reply With Quote
Hi Thumper,

Welcome to the world (or is it life- it certainly takes over your life) of Locost building.

A bloke had built a very smart looking MKIndy that he took on the track at Donnington. That had a 1.3 (bored to 1.4) Nova engine in it.
Unfortunately, I can't remember what gearbox he used (I think it was a Type9 though).
Locodude (aka PTM) spoke to him aswell for awhile so he may remeber a few more details.

Tell me is the Astra GTE digital dash the one that glows blue (or atleast has a blue background)? Only reason I ask is I once saw a tiny picture of one mounted in a Golf and I thought it looked pretty good. (Had been a lot of work though!)