Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
<<  1    2  >>
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Spherical bearing question please ?
big_wasa

posted on 28/5/06 at 11:17 PM Reply With Quote
Spherical bearing question please ?

If I was making my own wishbones to use rose bearings I would pick 1/2".

Ace sports cars use m10 joints on theirs.

Q) Are these up to the loads placed on them by a 600kg Locost doing 100mph down some nice twisties. This has been bugging me.

Over to you experts Image deleted by owner

indykid

posted on 28/5/06 at 11:25 PM Reply With Quote
i'm no expert, but i suppose it depends on the quality of joint.

as staniforth says in RARCS, a better quality joint of the same size is often stronger than going up a size to one of comparable quality.

without numbers, it's hard to quantify which would be better.

m8 would worry me for a road car, but m10 are probably boderline ok.
tom

nitram38

posted on 29/5/06 at 12:07 AM Reply With Quote
I have used 1/2" unf.
Finer threads give finer adjustment than metric. Also they are stronger. Probably why seatbelt fixings are fine threads. Go for the best quality that you can afford.

Triton

posted on 29/5/06 at 08:55 AM Reply With Quote
Top quality imperial thread everytime

My Daughter has taken over production of the damn fine Triton race seats and her contact email is emmatrs@live.co.uk.

www.tritonraceseats.com

www.hairyhedgehog.com

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
flak monkey

posted on 29/5/06 at 09:18 AM Reply With Quote
Correct me if I am wrong (again) but the loads on the inboard joints of a wishbone are purely tensile and compressive. If this is the case M10 is plenty big enough.