Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: wiring soldering help.
AlexXtreme

posted on 27/2/19 at 07:10 PM Reply With Quote
wiring soldering help.

I mentioned this in other threads, my coil pack is located under the dash and I have decided to relocate it using a bracket below the carbs. To do this I have to cut off the coil pack plug and then I would like to solder on extension wires to more it to the new location - or a similar joining method that will be reliable.

I have a reasonable soldering iron but I am a real beginner and have only soldered where access is easy and this is definitely not!

Any suggestion on how I approach? I have seen some "helping hand" devices that would be useful but many I could do with something like this that is small with a magnetic base as there is not much room under the dash and I will be doing this lying on my back above the pedals (the dash will not come out enough to give me access without alot of grief). Also the clips would act as heat sinks to help avoid any heat damage when re-soldering on the plug on the extension wires.

Also what dia wires should i buy?
Thanks

rusty nuts

posted on 27/2/19 at 07:32 PM Reply With Quote
Have a look at the crimp type connectors with heat shrink , probably easier and more reliable. I would suggest practicing soldering on a bench before hanging upside down behind a dash , been there , got the scars!
02GF74

posted on 27/2/19 at 08:23 PM Reply With Quote
I must be missing something as I don't see why you need to be in the car contorted to do the soldering.

You say you are moving the coil pack in order to extend the lead, why can't this be done on a bench?.

To extend the lead, cut the individual wires but stagger the cut, this prevents the joining lumps being in the same place, useful if feeding the lead through a hole.