Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
<<  1    2    3  >>
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Robin Hood Lovely description on Pistonheads
britishtrident

posted on 19/2/11 at 11:11 AM Reply With Quote
Robin Hood Lovely description on Pistonheads

I found this quote on Pistonheads on the subject of Robin Hood 2b --- much better than i could ever express it.

Mr2Mike said:
ArtVandelay said:
Recently, a Robin Hood 2B has caught my eye, however, being a complete novice to kit cars, I don't know what to look for. This is the car in question:
http://www.pistonheads.com/sales/2018672.htm

Now, hideous wheels aside
I can't put such abortions aside, I need to go and bleach my eyes now!

The 2B is a loose collection of bent exhaust pipe and bits of stainless steel sheet and GRP. It should win an award as the car with the smallest amount of actual engineering applied to a design. The quality of the finished item varies from utterly terrible to superficially good depending on the amount of time and skill the builder had, but ultimately they are (IMO) the worst designed 7 styled car you can still buy.

If it was extremely cheap and you only wanted to trundle around country roads at the weekend it may be sufficient. If you are buying a 7 for it's original attributes (i.e. lightness and handling) then look elsewhere.

;-)

Full thread is at http://www.pistonheads.com/gassing/topic.asp?h=1&t=899651&mid=0&nmt=Robin%20Hood%202B%20-%20How%20good%20are%20they?

[I] “ What use our work, Bennet, if we cannot care for those we love? .”
― From BBC TV/Amazon's Ripper Street.
[/I]

Dusty

posted on 19/2/11 at 01:37 PM Reply With Quote
The 2b was just a cheap sevenesque tourer. Never intended to be a trackday car. For 3000 quid they will out perform most production cars, give considerable fun to the driver, allow him/her to dream and often go on to build something better.