Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Mig welding advice
Adamirish

posted on 15/12/16 at 10:39 PM Reply With Quote
Mig welding advice

I have decided to pull my finger out and start welding myself. I have all the gear(no idea) now but just a couple of questions.

Firstly the gas(argon). Being a poverty spec disposable bottle, the regulator has no gauge so how far do I undo it? Full bore or just half a turn or so?

Now I understand this may open a can of worms judging by the internet but which is the best practise, push or pull? Or in reality does it not matter? I have read arguments for and against both ways but as a relative beginner, I would prefer to learn to do it properly from the start. Or is it a case of it depends what i'm doing?

I have mig welded in the past with a welder that was set up for me so I kind of know what does what. Going it alone is a different ball game though. I intend on getting all the scrap metal I can get my hands on this weekend and just practising, I may well end up with some form of scrap metal sculpture thing by Sunday night!

If there are any other words of wisdom you can throw at me then please feel free!

Thanks in advance for any advice.

MK Indy 1700 Xflow

Shooter63

posted on 16/12/16 at 08:10 AM Reply With Quote
The 1st thing I would do is get a proper gas bottle from a company like sgs, they do a rent free system, then get a proper welding gas, I presume you want to weld steel apposed to alloy, pure argon will be terrible for steel, you need an argon/co2 mix, then get a gauge and set it to around 20cfm, I know it will mean spending money but in the long run you will be a happy man.

Shooter

rusty nuts

posted on 16/12/16 at 08:16 AM Reply With Quote
I would suggest a look at the Mig welding forum , instructional videos and loads of advice for novice welders.
CosKev3

posted on 16/12/16 at 08:22 AM Reply With Quote
YouTube FTW