Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Noise Meter Apps
IainL

posted on 18/5/13 at 08:12 PM Reply With Quote
Noise Meter Apps

How accurate are noise meter apps on the iPhone?

Just thought I would check to see how loud my car was after fitting a new airbox & the "How Loud" app registered between 98-99 decibels @ 7500rpm

How confident would you be going to a track with a 100 decibel limit after that?

Cheers
Iain

snapper

posted on 18/5/13 at 08:29 PM Reply With Quote
Not very
The mic on an iPhone is very basic and the software not calibrated
It's a guide only

I eat to survive
I drink to forget
I breath to pi55 my ex wife off (and now my ex partner)

scottfraser

posted on 18/5/13 at 08:43 PM Reply With Quote
Some are pretty accurate. I'm an audio professional, and use JL Audio's app that has an SPL meter, it tracks my standard SPL meters quite well. I've also got a computer program called SMAART that I use to monitor various gigs I do, and the JL Audio is normally within a dB of what I measure with the whole SMAART rig.
rb968

posted on 18/5/13 at 08:47 PM Reply With Quote
I borrowed a calibrated meter recently and compared it to my iPhone 4 app. At normal office levels it was out by about 12%.

So not very accurate unfortunately.

Rich

coyoteboy

posted on 19/5/13 at 08:54 AM Reply With Quote
I've seen 3 different phones running the same app say next to each other reading totally different values. Never compared them to a calibrated meter but 2 out of the 3 would have to be out. So not very.

[Edited on 19/5/13 by coyoteboy]

craig1410

posted on 19/5/13 at 10:51 AM Reply With Quote