Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Cutting wheelarches.
Neil P

posted on 11/1/09 at 08:48 PM Reply With Quote
Cutting wheelarches.

I have a pair of rear arches that are a bit too wide.
I want to narrow them down a bit and wondered if anyone has advice on how to do it.
I need to cut them down by about 45mm which I'm going to take from the inside. This will cut off the moulded flange and the question really is should I take a strip out and try to bond the flange back on using glassfibre for a larger surface to bolt or rivet or just cut off the flange and bond the arch directly to the body with PU adhesive. Will that have sufficient strength?
I've heard all sorts of wonderful things about PU adhesives but as a first time builder I have no experience of what it is really capable of.

Neil

Hellfire

posted on 11/1/09 at 09:22 PM Reply With Quote
Personally, Id cut the flange off and bond another flange back on using a fibreglass kit.

Phil

02GF74

posted on 11/1/09 at 09:23 PM Reply With Quote
^^^ that sounds like a lot of t***ting about - what about getting correct width arches and selling the ones you have?

I can understand needing to do this if you car was in some way unique but wheelarches come in different sizes and colours.

[Edited on 11/1/09 by 02GF74]

londonsean69

posted on 11/1/09 at 10:04 PM Reply With Quote
If you're happy with doing that sort of work (cut and shut) then just get a pair of ebay the right size, then tart them up.

I see em on there, swith a few scratches etc. for about £25 from time to time. They would just need sanding and paintin, maybe a touch of filler

If yours are good nick, you should flog em easy to make back the money, and pay for a bit of paint as well

Failing that, you are going to have to cut them, then joint them with fibreglass on the inside, then fill the visible side, then sand, prime and paint.

omega 24 v6

posted on 11/1/09 at 10:19 PM Reply With Quote