Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Building a wooden workbench
computid

posted on 17/3/23 at 10:57 AM Reply With Quote
Building a wooden workbench

Hi All,

Thought I'd ask the collectives advice twice in one week!

I'm looking to build a decent, sturdy, garage workbench for a multitude of purposes. I want to be able to use it for everything from Carbon Fibre manufacture to metal work and engine rebuilds, so it needs to be strong, big (ish - 1200x1000x1000), and sturdy with a hard wearing top. I also don't want to spend a ton of cash, so my budget is around £200 total.

My plan is to build this using just Wickes Sawn Kiln Dried C16 Timber - 45 x 145. I'm hoping I can make both the frame and the top from this wood.

This is the design I've come up with:

Now, it's important to note that I've never built anything like this before, and wood work is not my strong suit, so my knowledge may be somewhat lacking and as such please excuse any silly questions!

The frame I'm fairly confident with, but it's the top that's causing me some questions. My plan is to paint some epoxy on one edge of the top planks, butt the planks hard up against each other on the top, and screw them down to the frame with deep countersunk screws. Let the epoxy harden off, fill the screw holes with wood filler, and then sand the top down flat. Hopefully this will provide me with a really strong and flat top. Then I want to treat the surface with something, ideally to stop resin from Fibreglass or Carbon sticking to it in future. I was thinking of varnishing it with polyurethane varnish as most resin doesn't stick to it.

For the shelf below I'm just going to use MDF or something as it doesn't need to be particularly strong.

As ever, I throw myself over to the LCB collective for your judgement and thoughts! Any input or worked examples most welcome!

Many thanks!

roadrunner

posted on 17/3/23 at 12:07 PM Reply With Quote