Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Reply
Author: Subject: BEC Mk indy for £5k?
stu da rude

posted on 29/10/05 at 11:18 PM Reply With Quote
BEC Mk indy for £5k?

Not got a winter project yet, ive set myself a budget of £5k for the next one. i really fancy a BEC Mk indy, just a quick question really to see just how much the BEC's you guys have built have cost? Am i being realistic? i know a lot depends on engine choice, im thinking FZR 1100 or blade at the mo, simply for the ease of fittting. Im an engineer by trade, have use of my dads garage, (not that he knows yet... and once my resto's finished...) so whaddaya you guys think? It would be purely a second car, so it aint gotta be remotely sensible.. ;-)

OX

posted on 29/10/05 at 11:51 PM Reply With Quote
i built an R1 powered mk indy for £6000 ,you could do it for less by shopping around more
stu da rude

posted on 30/10/05 at 12:26 AM Reply With Quote
R1 power would be nice, if a little outside of my budget perhaps? has anyone done a blade engined 1 for around the 5K mark? or any other bike engined variant for that matter? i wanna build something that scares me....

Hellfire

posted on 30/10/05 at 12:37 AM Reply With Quote
We built a blade for £6,000 but we never scrimped on anything and planned for a £6K build.

It would be difficult - but you could do it but only just if you do exhaust yourself and recondition most parts yourself. Blade engines have come down a lot in price. Wheels/tyres are always an expensive choice, it depends what you want ATEOTD.

Stick as near as you can to the donor... therefore you would want the cheapest Sierra 1.6L no power steering (for rack and column) no lsd, no rear calipers front uprights/hubs etc loom and as much as anything else you can. I reckon you could do it... but as I say, just!

HTH

[Edited on 30-10-05 by Hellfire]

stu da rude

posted on 30/10/05 at 01:13 AM Reply With Quote