Board logo

Making a domestic ring main
locoboy - 20/6/12 at 07:36 PM

Guys,

I am an electrical novice and before you all start beating me with part P reference books or any kind of electrical bible I am asking a question in order to confirm my own theories.

I have attached a sketch of my current and proposed garage wiring.

At present I have no ring main in my garage, the garage is attached and has its own consumer unit, albeit an old one with the pull out fuses.

The garage has a 'spur' arrangement of ...
3 double sockets on one side
1 double socket 'spur' arrangement on the other side
1 double socket 'spur' close to the consumer unit,

I'm sure the term spur is not correct because it is not 'spurring' off an existing ring main but I'm sure you get what I mean.

I have built a partition wall to split the garage and make it into one third storage and 2 thirds workshop.

On the partition I would like to include 3 more double sockets.

I am aware that the current setup is not ideal at there is no loop back to the consumer unit.

In terms of what is fused with what.....
The 3 sockets on the 9 meter run are on their own fuse
The 1 socket 50cm away is on it's own fuse
The 1 socket 9m away is on it's own fuse.

Am I right in that I need to add the wiring in the PINK box in order to make the existing 3 sockets and my 3 new sockets into a ring main and make them a lot safer?

Am I right in thinking that the other 2 sockets that are not linked into any kind of ring main are pretty much ok as they are? after all the whole lot has been fine for the last 5 years of use!

For those concerned I would not be doing this myself I just don't want to sound stupid when talking to the guy that will be doing it!
garage wiring
garage wiring

big-vee-twin - 20/6/12 at 07:48 PM

Your 'spur circuit is called a Radial circuit, and should be wired in 4mm2 cable and fused at 20 amps.