Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Reply
Author: Subject: Locost V5 registration
ADJA77

posted on 31/8/19 at 08:41 AM Reply With Quote
Locost V5 registration

Hi,
I'm new to the kit car world and looking for something around the 3.5k for a bit of local road fun.

I have seen one car advertised but when I do a search on the reg its showing as

Marque: Locost
Range: 7 Replica

My question is does this mean this is still a locost chassis build or could this be something else as others I have seen do not state they are a 7 replica?

Also, is a Locost much different to a Tiger Cat E1 as that was my other option.

thanks

big_wasa

posted on 31/8/19 at 01:26 PM Reply With Quote
When buying a used kitcar I would say “THE” most important thing is it’s correctly registered.
Second most important referees more to a home made chassis, and that is the welding of the chassis and wishbones looks to be of a good standard.

Everything else can be swapped, changed and upgraded as is your preference.

A lot of kits where copies of copies of copies. Tiger are a little bit different to most. Use different running gear. They also tend to be a bit smaller in the cockpit.
I would class the the tiger cat as more of a tourer. Early ones used the Sierra rear subframe. So a little heavier.

ADJA77

posted on 31/8/19 at 05:56 PM Reply With Quote
Thanks,
So from your knowledge of these cars would you say that this is a correctly registered Locost or something to stay away from?

Also there seems to be the option of a 2.0 Zetec, with 4 speed gearbox or 1.8 & 2.0 pinto 5 speed gearbox.

Is there a huge amount of difference between the Zetec / Pinto and running with only 4 gears instead of 5 with regards to performance.

big_wasa

posted on 31/8/19 at 07:39 PM Reply With Quote
I don’t know what your looking at so I can’t say if it’s correctly registered or not.