Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Amps Relays and things...
Willie

posted on 3/4/03 at 12:04 PM Reply With Quote
Amps Relays and things...

Hello,

Ok, I can weld wee bits of things together, beat/form sheet etc...but wiring - errrrrr.

After studying the wiring diagram in the book, it seems that it should work ok, except for the right side repeater being connected to the main beam or something.

Now the thing I'm wanting to know is, what Amps does main beam, dip, horn and teh fan require? If I'm for running each through a relay, I'd need a relay that says something like "12V 40amp" or whatever the amperage is...right? I'm afraid this is my first attempt at wiring anything...hopefully my last too.

Also, a 4 pin relay is a normal one that I could use a switch to activate? Why don't they just make big brute ignorant switches anymore?

Sorry for my ignorance, hope someone can help.

Thanks in advance,

Willie

stephen_gusterson

posted on 3/4/03 at 01:20 PM Reply With Quote
Hi

Im the opposite from you - im a hardware / software / electronics guy that has to struggle with mech engineering work!.

A good pointer is to get a haynes manual on your donor car. look at the fuse ratings they have in there.

Basically, every 12 watts of consumption at 12 v is one amp. (In reality a battery goes to about 13.5 volts in use).

So, a 55w main beam will be a tad over 4 1/2 amps.

A Horn is likely to be fused at 10 amps.

For relays, I suggest that you DONT buy them....use the ones from your donor or from a scrappy.

I just looked for info on connections, and found this site - looks to me that its gonna help you a lot

http://freespace.virgin.net/tommy.sandham/relays.htm

DONT use relays with different terminal numbering - they are not the same inside.

Good luck. If I can help further let me know!

atb

steve

David Jenkins

posted on 3/4/03 at 01:20 PM Reply With Quote
P = V x I