Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Derk's Haynes Roadster Build
Derkjohn

posted on 17/8/14 at 04:12 PM Reply With Quote
Derk's Haynes Roadster Build

Hi Guys

My name is Derk. I live in Johannesburg, South Africa with my beautiful wife Katie.

I've been building a Haynes roadster for the last four months or so and have learned so much by reading other peoples builds on this forum. I'll post some of the pics of my build up that will hopefully be of help to other builders.

[Edited on 17/8/14 by Derkjohn]

Derkjohn

posted on 17/8/14 at 04:20 PM Reply With Quote
Laying out the first tubes

Description
Description

So this is how it started. I built a table out of some ply wood and 75mm x50mm. The tubes for the frame are 25mm x 25mm and are 1.6 mm thick

Derkjohn

posted on 17/8/14 at 04:24 PM Reply With Quote
Description
Description

The nose section being built up. The book was a bit confusing on the developed length I thought. But that might just have been my ignorance

Description
Description

More tubes being tacked together

Derkjohn

posted on 17/8/14 at 04:31 PM Reply With Quote
This is the donor vehicle I bought a few weeks into the build. It is a 1990 2L Ford Sapphire (I think these are exclusive to South Africa) but all the suspension and drive train components are the same as the Sierra.
Description
Description

Some of the parts that I stripped out
Description
Description

The rear brakes are drums, but I have since bought a 1991 3L (essex) Sapphire and will be using the discs from that

Derkjohn

posted on 17/8/14 at 04:42 PM Reply With Quote
Description
Description

Description
Description

Making the rear shock and roll bar supports

Description
Description

Description
Description

Trail fitting the engine

Description
Description

I decided to weld the diff mounts directly onto the chassis. Simplify and add lightness

Slimy38

posted on 17/8/14 at 05:01 PM Reply With Quote
quote: