Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Student seeking information
Lord Teddy

posted on 18/9/12 at 09:31 AM Reply With Quote
Student seeking information

Good morning chaps, and any ladies we may also have on here.

My name is Jordon but most call me Teddy, I'm currently a Motorsport Engineer student at Myerscough College, Lancashire.

I have recently started my final year of education on the course, and I've been handed a Locost in a bit of a dreary condition.

However, my first task on the car is to change the engine and create a cooling system for the Locost. Currently, it has a 1.6 Zetec engine with a standalone ECU and a larger radiator. I'm not 100% sure where or what the current radiator is from, and nor do I have the slightest clue why the previous students have fitted it!?

It sits a lot lower than the standard nose cone, so again for some bizarre reason, the nose cone was modified to make it larger so that it could cover the radiator and to put it bluntly, it looks naff and is no doubt affecting the aerodynamics of the car.

So the reason I have joined your forum is for your advice to help me make my decisions for my mentioned tasks. The engine that I've been given to replace the old Zetec with ITB's is another Zetec SE 1.6 engine , however this is a box standard one and will be ran on a standard map. So my next task is to source a radiator for the vehicle, something that sits snugly at the front within the dimensions of a STANDARD nose cone, what is it that you guys have used?

I can post pics of the Locost on request.

Thanks in advance guys, any help will be greatly appreciated.

[Edited on 18/9/12 by Lord Teddy]

[Edited on 18/9/12 by Lord Teddy]

redeye

posted on 18/9/12 at 09:38 AM Reply With Quote
Hi teddy

Welcome to the forum

the radiator most often used is a 1.0 polo radiator

its small and compact and fits under most nose cones

take a look in my photo archive at mine if you like.