Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Front spindle diameter
designer

posted on 10/5/19 at 02:17 PM Reply With Quote
Front spindle diameter

I'm not a structural engineer, and I know that most cars have large diameter front spindles, but is 11mm a big enough diameter for a small lightweight car?
View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
AdamR20

posted on 10/5/19 at 02:30 PM Reply With Quote
Sounds a bit small to me, especially if that is the diameter at the upright!
russbost

posted on 10/5/19 at 02:32 PM Reply With Quote
To answer that you'd need to know how lightweight & what sort of grip or extreme forces are likely to be exerted, how large/wide are the wheels etc etc

I no longer run Furore Products or Furore Cars Ltd, but would still highly recommend them for Acewell dashes, projector headlights, dominator headlights, indicators, mirrors etc, best prices in the UK! Take a look at http://www.furoreproducts.co.uk/ or find more parts on Ebay, user names furoreltd & furoreproducts, discounts available for LCB users.
Don't forget Stainless Steel Braided brake hoses, made to your exact requirements in any of around 16 colours. http://shop.ebay.co.uk/furoreproducts/m.html?_dmd=1&_ipg=50&_sop=12&_rdc=1

NOTE:This user is registered as a LocostBuilders trader and may offer commercial services to other users
rusty nuts

posted on 10/5/19 at 04:18 PM Reply With Quote
11 mm is about the size of pushbike spindles, not sure I would want to rely on them holding a car up
steve m

posted on 10/5/19 at 04:43 PM Reply With Quote
I had 13mm spindles on a downhill cart, (pushbike wheels) and still thought I could of needed larger spindles

imho 11 mm, is for a toddlers trike

steve

Thats was probably spelt wrong, or had some grammer, that the "grammer police have to have a moan at

nick205

posted on 10/5/19 at 05:54 PM Reply With Quote