Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Haynes Roadster ST170 on GSXR throttles
alga

posted on 8/3/17 at 01:44 AM Reply With Quote
Haynes Roadster ST170 on GSXR throttles

Hi. My name is Albertas, I'm from Vilnius, Lithuania. I've built my Haynes Roadster from 2009 till 2013, and I've been hanging around on the Haynes forum.

Here's the full gallery of my build https://picasaweb.google.com/100881048868628458396/HaynesRoadsterLocostBuild?noredirect=1

I'm a software developer by trade, and before starting this project I didn't have much experience with cars, so I tried to keep it as simple and standard as possible. My donor Sierra had a 2.0 Pinto, but a friend who has a Tiger Cat convinced me to go the Zetec route, so I got a Silvertop with a loom and an ECU.

I got the engine with the loom, took the loom apart, traced all the wires and all the ECU pins, rebuilt the parts that had the insulation falling apart, and got the engine running on the stock DESK ECU from the Mondeo. I used the stock plastic intake manifold, because in the LHD car I had no problems whatsoever fitting it.

Finally, in over three years, I was finished and I got it registered and road legal in Poland, with the help of a fellow Seven enthusiast from Warsaw.

I was using the cars in autosolos, and after the first season of driving I changed the ECU to Megasquirt 3, soldered from the kit I've brought from a business trip to US. I took the easiest route and used the ignition, injection, idle valve etc. I already had. Initially I hooked it up via the Ford EEC-IV plug torn out of another ECU, but after driving with it for a year, and having more problems with the wires breaking off the adapter, rather than MS being hard to use, I eliminated the adapter.

Later I added a Bluetooth module:

But once in August 2015 the oil filter has shaken loose during autosolo practice, the oil ended up on the asphalt, and the engine seized witin seconds: