Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Had my first attempt at welding!!!
beagley

posted on 27/12/11 at 05:08 PM Reply With Quote
Had my first attempt at welding!!!

Glad I started with scrap instead of box steel. Thing looked like some kind of metal devouring creature (not of the rust genus) threw up all over the place. Still fun and a great learning experience though. Long way to go before I start a chassis myself however.
I think I'll just get the guy from this post to do it for me.

Beags

I'm not scared!!! I'm just marking my territory.

T66

posted on 27/12/11 at 05:30 PM Reply With Quote
Im no expert welder, was taught to gas weld at 17 and got quite useful with it repairing rotten truck cabs ! Self taught stick welder on rotten truck chassis too.

Taught myself to mig weld, and thoroughly enjoy it.

Theory is the easy bit, just keep practising lots on different thickness of metals. Experiment with different amperages till you get to know what will blow through the metal (too many amps) and what piles the mig wire up like pigeon crap (too few amps)

Its as much about knowing your welders settings , as it is a steady hand. Have a look at the site below, often posted up here as its a good reference point.

http://www.mig-welding.co.uk/

blakep82

posted on 27/12/11 at 10:24 PM Reply With Quote
lets see some photos of your work though, maybe can offer some tips to help inmprove?

IVA manual link http://www.businesslink.gov.uk/bdotg/action/detail?type=RESOURCES&itemId=1081997083

don't write OT on a new thread title, you're creating the topic, everything you write is very much ON topic!

Confused but excited.

posted on 27/12/11 at 10:30 PM Reply With Quote
Best advice I had was to go to nightschool at a local - twenty miles away - Tech college.
£60 for a sixteen night course. Best £60 I ever spent. Covered gas, stick, Mig &Tig basics, the it's; practice, practice, practice.