Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Help ... concrete expert required.
plentywahalla

posted on 20/12/13 at 07:54 PM Reply With Quote
Help ... concrete expert required.

I am no expert in building practise but I have mixed concrete before and never had this problem, although the application was a bit unusual.

We were attempting to effect a temporary repair to a sunken rivetted iron barge. We had re-floated it using a 4" salvage pump to overcome the leaks and towed it onto a slip to make a repair good enough to get it to a ship repair yard. We only had about 7 to 8 hours between tides. The proven method for patching is to build a box around the hole and fix some rebar to the surrounding structure and pour in concrete. Canvas is put down first and this acts as caulking as it takes up when wetted and the weight of the 8 inch thick concrete slab and the rebar holds it in place.

Well it all went wrong. The owner of the slip wants the barge shifted as soon as possible and it's costing money. Also with xmas coming up the tides were far from ideal. We poured the concrete yesterday at about 3 pm and mixed it with Febspeed accelerator to bring the setting time down to 2 to 3 hours. This morning the concrete has cracked all over, it appeared swollen and had come away from the wooden box and could be easily broken up with a pick and could be crumbled by hand.

So what did we do wrong? it could be one of three things I think.

First frost damage, although the night wasn't that cold but there was frost on the deck this morning. There is a gap under the hull and there could have been wind chill on the wetted iron hull.

Secondly I could have got the mix ratio of the accelerator wrong. The mix was a quite strong 25kgs cement and 100 kgs ballast. To this I added 2.5 litres Febspeed straight into the mix. Was this mix ratio right and also should it be added to the water first?