Board logo

MK Indy R Newcomer
Old Banger - 4/1/09 at 12:07 PM

Hi guys

Just joined and getting an MK Indy R made by the guys at Maltby.

Will be ready late feb but as I said in piston heads that day connot come quick enough!

Would love to hear about these cars as i have no experience whatsoever apart from a good old donunt session on the MK Car park last week.

Are there any pointers i should know about when driving these cars as i took the shortcut route and didn't build myself so will be less familiar than most who have.

Look forward to some advice and hope there will be some meets or kit track days in the near future.

Dan

Mark G - 4/1/09 at 12:14 PM

Congrats, I'm sure you can't wait. I know I'm looking forward to when I get mine on the road and I've had it for nearly a year.

What engine have you gone for?

daniel mason - 4/1/09 at 12:16 PM

Im in same boat mate.Just bought my stuart taylor zx9r a few months ago and its amazing!
I have had 2 300 bhp imprezas and an evo 8,and this thing will destroy them up to about 100 mph. after that the others take over. What engine are you putting in it?

Old Banger - 4/1/09 at 12:34 PM

Jeez

Didn't realize that they would be quicker than tuned scooby's and skylines etc other than straight off the mark!!!

Thats the missus banned then before i even get it.

Its all black getting a GSX1000R lump, willwood4 pots with mintex pads, Cobra seats, carbon side panels, cossy lsd, and power commander which mk say should be around 185bhp.

Sorry but i have no pics yet other than my old M3

Those pics look good of both cars which is making me want mine now now now!!!

daniel mason - 4/1/09 at 12:46 PM

I would imagine that an evo 8 like my old one would do 0-100 mph in about 13 secs, but with 185 bhp and prob less than 500 kgs with the carbon fibre bits you may have around 370 bhp/ton and that is a hell of a lot. 0-100 in less then 10 secs should be no problem at all.

A1 - 4/1/09 at 01:07 PM

sounds nice!!