Board logo

Motorbike engine rebuild
Miks15 - 18/3/14 at 09:09 PM

Hey guys,

I'm about to start rebuilding an old motorbike engine (1970s CB360) and I am after some advice on a few things. I've never done anything to this level before so just want to make sure what I do is right before getting started.

Cylinders: I am going to be running standard size pistons and rings, so cylinders wont be bored, but should I hone them out just to clean them up? I've seen people running a drill fitted hone through, is this a wise thing to do?

Valves: I am going to oull the valves out and give them a refresh. Currently they have a good coating of carbon on the underside. So theyll need a good cleaning. Whats the best way of cleaning up valves without damaging them? Ill also need to clean up the top of the cylinder (where the valves seat). So hows best to clean this as well?

I take it I'll then need to lap the valves so a good seal again? Any tips and pointers on doing this right first time?

Piston: There is a bit of deposit on the crown of the pistons, hows best to clean this without damaging anything?

Cheers guys!

supersport31 - 19/3/14 at 12:02 AM

Cool bike squire,

If you are replacing rings, yes get them honed properly. its cheap and allows the rings to bed properly. Its actually quite a skill/important to get right.
If you aren't replacing the rings (you really should while its apart) then a clean up with green abrasive pad will be ok.
Pistons can usually be reused but worth measuring them to spec.

After honing clean the bores like a mad man until you see no contamination. A little oil on kitchen towel is a good indicator of this, rub on the bores and the towel should still be clean.

Do you have access to a pillar drill ? these are very handy for cleaning valves. careful use of fine wire wool (not on valve contact area) will have them cleaned in no time

Oven cleaner will help soften carbon from the head/piston tops as will a WD40 soaked rag.