Board logo

Protecting wires in Wall
stevebubs - 22/2/21 at 03:37 PM

Remodelling the kitchen and dining room at the moment, including relocating sockets on the right main and light switches.

What is the accepted way of protecting these wires when we plaster over them?

They will be covered by an RCD but would prefer something over the top as well - was considering putting in metal capping over them but unsure whether it would have needed to be earth bonded.

nick205 - 22/2/21 at 04:09 PM

First off, I'm not an electrician or qualified as such.

In my previous house the wires were covered with plastic trunking like this:

https://www.wickes.co.uk/Wickes-P VC-Protective-Channelling---White-25-x-8mm-x-2m/p/710898?utm_source=google&utm_medium=cpc&adpos=&scid=scplp710898&sc_intid=710898& gclid=EAIaIQobChMIrLiSqe797gIV2-3tCh0sWwWwEAQYASABEgIY_vD_BwE&gclsrc=aw.ds

My current house is timber framed so the wires run the within stud walls.

IIRC the wires are supposed to run verstically and horizontally, not diagonally. Diagonally run wires are too easy to drill into.

Above all make sure you comply with the relevant rules and regulations. It's advisable to seek the services of a qualified electrician.

theconrodkid - 22/2/21 at 05:34 PM

as above ^^^ wires go verticaly or horizontally, i would use conduit as there is a chance or removing / replacing it should a problem arise later on.

harmchar - 22/2/21 at 06:09 PM

Don't want to come across as a smart arse, but the fact questions are being asked about electrical protection, surely means you are not qualified to do the upgrade.
https://www.electricalsafetyfirst.org.uk/find-an-electrician/building-regulations/england/
Might get some advice on above link. It's different rules for you guys in England, but I'm sure you have to have knowledge of Part P before you carry out any electrical work to your property.
At the end of the day, it's all about doing it safely.

cliftyhanger - 22/2/21 at 07:39 PM

quote: