Board logo

Zetec Turbo
hazardpro - 19/9/16 at 08:50 PM

Hi all!

Ive recently acquired a nice little IndyMK Zetec turbo (my first kit car) - likewise Im no mechanic (but Im keen!)

The turbo conversion was done 2 owners ago and on a old engine (which I was told later died due to fan dying and engine overheating).

It then had a brand new Zetec 2L black top installed about 5k ago. Ive been told the engine is stock and the turbo is turned right down (not had it dyno'd yes but at a guess Id say something like 150bhp).

On the old engine they had it dyno'd at 230bhp but I have no idea what mods the old engine had.

Ive been quoted around 1.5 - 2k to forge the engine for 190bhp + which they have said would be required in order to achieve that kind of power.

The car is running a custom map via a megasquirt v3 ECU

My questions are;

1. Anyone else running a Zetec Turbo conversion - what bhp and have you made mods to the engine to cope with the extra BHP or is it stock?
2. At what level would you say you need to do that kind if prep to the engine?
3. Ive been told the engine will be fine running it in its current state (with turbo turned right down).
4. I get a 'flutter' from the turbo as I come off the gas - is that normal?
5. What other mods could I do to the engine that will not require forging but will increase power / throttle response etc.

PS the throttle bodies on the engine do not look stock.... looks more like these to be honest but Im not 100% which they are:
http://www.kitspares.co.uk/index.php?route=product/product&product_id=628

Thanks in advance for any help/input

Doug

[Edited on 19/9/16 by hazardpro]

[Edited on 19/9/16 by hazardpro]

madteg - 19/9/16 at 09:35 PM