Board logo

Wast his ignition map done for better mpg
bikecarbfred - 6/7/19 at 07:51 AM

noob here again.

I remember being on the rolling road n hearing the guys mapping saying the carbs were running rich. they adjusted the fuel mixture then the below map done so it would run leaner between 1k and 2k for better cruise?

i remember the car ran great for air/fuel mixture between this range and then when you opened it up , it would get alot richer.
seems serious advance but there must have been a reason why they did this high advance in these early ranges?

i assume at these rpm's it is hard to get detonation so why not advance very high at these low rpms?

snapper - 6/7/19 at 09:02 AM

I am assuming that the left column is for TPS not MAP so small throttle opening/low gas speed = cruise/low load and so the fuel mixture takes longer to burn so you set it on fire earlier for a complete combustion/low emissions.

bikecarbfred - 6/7/19 at 11:33 AM

sorry yep. it was tps on left side

coyoteboy - 7/7/19 at 12:35 PM

You can get detonation and pre ignition at idle speed. All you need is a hot spot and the right mixture.

MikeRJ - 7/7/19 at 02:03 PM

quote:
Originally posted by bikecarbfred
noob here again.

I remember being on the rolling road n hearing the guys mapping saying the carbs were running rich. they adjusted the fuel mixture then the below map done so it would run leaner between 1k and 2k for better cruise?

Ignition maps do not control fuel mixture, or at least not directly. If the carburetor jetting had been set to give a lean cruise condition, then more ignition advance would be needed since lean mixtures burn more slowly.

quote:
i remember the car ran great for air/fuel mixture between this range and then when you opened it up , it would get alot richer.
seems serious advance but there must have been a reason why they did this high advance in these early ranges?