Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Draper Tools?
dhutch

posted on 7/5/09 at 11:03 PM Reply With Quote
Draper Tools?

Have seen them around a fair bit and they look fairly tidy and compairable to other brands.
- Got my eye on there 33pc 3/8" set as it looks like a fairly no-nonsence set of actuall sockets and long sockets.

Daniel

mark chandler

posted on 7/5/09 at 11:23 PM Reply With Quote
Halfords professional range are the best bet, nice feel and when you break them just swap for a new one as life time guarantee.

I have some older draper stuff, it was very good 25 years ago when I purchased new then.

hillbillyracer

posted on 7/5/09 at 11:40 PM Reply With Quote
If it's Draper Expert then it's not bad stuff, I've been using a 1/2 socket set daily for 12 years in agric engineering & nothing has broke apart from the ratchet which I just wore out & a couple of sockets that were being asked to "perform beyond what could reasonably be expected of them"!
If it's just the plain Draper brand without the expert tag then it can be pretty poor.

A1

posted on 7/5/09 at 11:42 PM Reply With Quote
we use draper, and some halfords professional, although the draper is a bit older, never had a problem with it.
dhutch

posted on 8/5/09 at 12:37 AM Reply With Quote
Yeah sorry, i should have added it is fromt the expert range.

This one:http://www.tooled-up.com/Product.asp?PID=113125

Although, when i was looking at it the price was £38, could be had for £35 at stoneleigh.

I did look at the halford pro ranges, but although there 1/4" set (which i have one of) and the 1/2" set are very nice, theres a not of extra crap in the 3/8" sets i found over and above sockets!

I did consider the 1/2" but i just seams over kill really, with my current cheapo 3/8 set ive never thought it would break, and often, i use the 1/4 set even. Although i do have a 1/2 breakerbar with 3/8 adapter.

Daniel

Danozeman