Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Rover V8 engine numbers - can't find mine
Irony

posted on 17/9/09 at 09:46 PM Reply With Quote
Rover V8 engine numbers - can't find mine

After much searching and much googling I still can't find my Rover V8 engine numbers.

With my part built kit I received not 1 but 2 Rover V8's

Engine 1

17D05781B with a Offenhouser Manifold and a Holley Carb

Engine 2

Autobox with a unknown carb thing (dunno need to research it, looks a big jumble of stuff to me)

S10A44028

Can anyone find these codes?

Both are in unknown condition but have both been 'apparently' been seen running by previous owner. That was two years ago and since then they have been stored in a reasonably dry garage.

Being as I have little experience in engine rebuilding what do you guys recommend I do?? I am willing to research and learn all I can to sort these out. Should I strip them down photographing as I go along and then finding out their condition?? Or should I just wire 'em' up and see what happens (as recommended by my dad who is a seasoned mechanic of many years but loves short cuts wayyy to much)

miikae

posted on 17/9/09 at 10:10 PM Reply With Quote
Have a look Here as i think its there.

Mike

If it can be done it i will be done .

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
mark chandler

posted on 17/9/09 at 10:27 PM Reply With Quote
Rover v8's are cheaper to buy than refurbish, run them up.

Expect lots of top end clatter for 5 minutes as the followers pump up so leave at a fast idle, they will sound absolutely knackered!

A good tip is to pluck out the distributor and prime the the engine by spinning the oil pump with an electric drill.

You can see the top of the pump drive as it runs from the bottom of the distributor so get a bit of small tube and flatten the end to so it will locate over the drive.