Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Engine management for RWD zetec conversion
mike lotus

posted on 19/10/09 at 08:14 AM Reply With Quote
Engine management for RWD zetec conversion

Hello there i'm new to these sorts of forum and could do with a bit of help.
I am thinking changing from an old 1.6cvh carb engine to a 1.8 or 2.0 zetec.
I can do all the mechanical work and with some help connecting fuel lines etc.
As i'm doing this on a very restricted budget i have a couple of questions.
Would it be worth while changing to a 1.8 cvh carbed engine.
Or could i fit the zetec and use the factory ECU?
Is there some information on the forum how to use the standard ECU and connect it up to the existing wiring harness.

Any help / advice would be appreciated.

Thanks

Mike

coozer

posted on 19/10/09 at 08:24 AM Reply With Quote
Welcome Mike, interesting question there.

Does the cvh engine you have, have a coil pack? If so you can use the EEC unit from that.

Common route is bike carbs or twin webbers with Edis and Megajolt. The Ford EEC unit can used to control the sparks to save costs.

Zetecs will run fine (fixed 10° advance) with just the Edis.

The advantages of the zetec over the cvh will be smoother running, better economy and more power!

Theres a fair bit info on the net, one page of which which can be found HERE!

Where abouts are you and what you thinking of building??

Steve

[Edited on 19/10/09 by coozer]

1972 V8 Jago

1980 Z750

whitestu

posted on 19/10/09 at 08:35 AM Reply With Quote
quote:

Would it be worth while changing to a 1.8 cvh carbed engine.

Nope, the 1.6 is more tuneable than the 1.8 unless you are going to turbo it.

Mave

posted on 19/10/09 at 08:45 AM Reply With Quote
On pre-94 silvertop Zetecs it is perfectly possible to use the factory ECU and intake manifold (just make sure to route your steering shaft around it). See my site for more info.