Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: OT - Central Heating & Bathrooms..... help !
mcerd1

posted on 17/2/10 at 11:19 PM Reply With Quote
OT - Central Heating & Bathrooms..... help !

Last night the boiler packed in
I'll get that sorted, but its made me think its time to sort the plumbing properly (I've been putting it off since I moved in 3 years ago)

As well as that the showers half dead and the whole bathroom suite is more than a bit worn out (and a lovely blue colour ) and the tiles & pine cealing have to go, so I want to do the whole lot in one go if I can

but first off the boilers a cheap baxi combi one thats about 8/9 years old, so it might be worth thinking about a new one - any suggestons/recomendations for a replacement ?
(its only a small 2 bed house btw)

I've never had to do any of this before so I need ideas, recommendations or any advice you can give please

cheers
-Robert

-

Steve G

posted on 17/2/10 at 11:21 PM Reply With Quote
No idea but dont forget to apply for the Boiler Scrapage Scheme
mookaloid

posted on 17/2/10 at 11:35 PM Reply With Quote
Worcester Bosch seem pretty good we rarely seem to have problems with them.

Don't be tempted by these cheap eastern european boilers - they might be cheap to buy but the parts are stupidly expensive when they do go wrong.

Probably the boiler is too new to be eligible for the scrappage scheme but check it out anyway

Cheers

Mark

"That thing you're thinking - it wont be that."

blakep82

posted on 17/2/10 at 11:38 PM Reply With Quote
well impressed with my new worcester bosch boiler. we used to have some things run off the boiler, and 1 shower and a few taps running off a immersion heater (don't know what the builders were thinking...) and the old boiler used to struggle
now everything runs off the new boiler and lovely and hot

IVA manual link http://www.businesslink.gov.uk/bdotg/action/detail?type=RESOURCES&itemId=1081997083