Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
<<  1    2  >>
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: New project..
iDENTITi

posted on 22/3/10 at 03:11 PM Reply With Quote
New project..

After tea-leaving the haynes book from my place of work a few years back, I've been pretty much bitten by the bug to build one of these but never really had the skills necissary.
Three years later and I'm now a reasonably competant welder and machinist, so i thought I'd give it a crack.

Basically going to buy a precut pack (I could cut it all out by myself, but it would take far too long, and probably involve lots of mistakes, so).
The only real thing that I'm racking my brain about lately is the choice of engine. Being from a biker background I'd prefer a bike engine, but this requires slightly more complexity. The only upside I have is that I already have a bike (1979 GS500E) that would happily donate it's engine, the small problem being the weak 50bhp output.

Any help, or opinions in this matter would be kindly appreciated, and sorry for the waffling on, it's what I do best.

Daddylonglegs

posted on 22/3/10 at 03:20 PM Reply With Quote
Welcome to the site

I'm sure you'll get plenty of input regarding engine choices - BEC v CEC will raise it's head too I'm sure

I'm running (or will be when it's finished) an 'anchor-driven (Pinto) car. I have a VFR750 at the moment and when it can no longer cut it I would love to use the engine in a car - would sound good and at c100BHP should go fairly well too.

Not sure your 500 would be up to the job, but someone with more brains than me will be along soon I'm sure.

Good luck whatever you choose, you'll get loads of help off this forum

JB

It looks like the Midget is winning at the moment......

eznfrank

posted on 22/3/10 at 03:20 PM Reply With Quote
Welcome to the forum!!

Re: the engine, do you have another 3 of those engines to run alongside it? 1 for each wheel maybe?