Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: tintop paint repair
jlparsons

posted on 12/5/10 at 10:50 AM Reply With Quote
tintop paint repair

Morning folks, I've got a BMW with a couple of scratches on the front painted bumper which go down to the plastic and a localised but fairly significant dent in the back plastic bumper. I'm thinking about having a go touching them up myself but I've never done it before - I've repainted areas on cars before (window surrounds on my first car many years ago... sigh...) but never had to fill/resurface and blend in to existing paintwork before.

Is it hard to do? And is it something you have to do six times before you can get it perfect or is it possible with elbow grease to get it right first time? I figure if worst come to worst I'll just get a pro to do it anyway, nothing lost.

I don't have an area I can use that's dust-free, so would I be better setting up a dust free tent in the garage with plastic sheeting (dexter style) or just taking the bumper off and doing it in the kitchen?

Lastly, anyone recommend a good website with a howto? Or a good book?

Any resemblance to real persons, living or dead is purely coincidental. Some assembly required. Batteries not included. Contents may settle during shipment. Use only as directed. No other warranty expressed or implied. Do not use while operating a motor vehicle or heavy equipment. Subject to approval, terms and conditions apply. Apply only to affected area. For recreational use only. All models over 18 years of age. No user-serviceable parts inside. Subject to change. As seen on TV. One size fits all. May contain nuts. Slippery when wet. For office use only. Edited for television. Keep cool; process promptly.

britishtrident

posted on 12/5/10 at 11:35 AM Reply With Quote