Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: MNR/QUAIFE reverse
danny84

posted on 9/12/10 at 09:35 PM Reply With Quote
MNR/QUAIFE reverse

Hi all 1st post on here so i need some help.
Has anyone got any pictures of a MNR or QUAIFE reverse gearbox apart. IE all the internals on show.It,s just to get some ideas for making my own.I work as a cnc operator at an engineering company so have all the equipment at hand.I've got a rough design down on paper using direct helical gears so hopefully no backlash.It's very early days yet but hope to make a prototype sometime next year.Cheers all.

gavin174

posted on 9/12/10 at 09:48 PM Reply With Quote
hi danny

welcome to the forum...

hope you dont think i am being rude.

but your taking the P.

http://www.essexkitcarclub.com

danny84

posted on 9/12/10 at 11:00 PM Reply With Quote
What do you mean taking the p.All i want is a comparison.This is purely for my personal use and no one elses.I,m not trying to reinvent the wheel or steal ideas form anyone.Am i out of order here?The reverse gear box isn't an exclusive to anyone,thats engineering.Change it a bit or improve it!!!What do you think MNR would have done.They probably aquired a quaife,pulled it apart and said"oh thats not good...We'll do this instead".So if anyones got any pictures ta.
mattyc

posted on 9/12/10 at 11:15 PM Reply With Quote
Totally agree with you Danny my company has made millions from revesre engineering with added improvements
cs3tcr

posted on 10/12/10 at 12:27 AM Reply With Quote
Have a look at this thread on the US site:

USA linky

He's using straight cut gears but it gives some idea.

rf900rush

posted on 10/12/10 at 07:39 AM Reply With Quote
Parts from my old gold colored gearbox.

Have repaired it, but so poorly I should NEVER be use on a car again.
I did have the intention to use then diff unit for a kiddy car.

Sorry no pictures of my new MNR one though.

gears
gears