Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
<<  1    2  >>
New Topic New Reply
Author: Subject: The law is an arse !!
plentywahalla

posted on 4/1/11 at 08:42 PM Reply With Quote
The law is an arse !!

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/news/3330852/Fined-for-warning-of-speed-trap.html

I'm not a lawyer but ... Surely the law of obstructing a police officer assumes a crime has taken place.

How come it is now a crime to prevent an offence being committed?

balidey

posted on 4/1/11 at 08:49 PM Reply With Quote
Isn't it called Tax evasion

Dutch bears have terrible skin due to their clogged paws

loggyboy

posted on 4/1/11 at 08:51 PM Reply With Quote
Happened a few years ago when an old chap put a sign up IIRC.

And they wonder why most of the public have no respect or faith in the the law or the police.

EDIT

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/uknews/1463472/Motorist-is-banned-over-speed-trap-alert.html

[Edited on 4/1/11 by loggyboy]

PSpirine

posted on 4/1/11 at 09:04 PM Reply With Quote
I'd like to know what exactly he was obstructing. Knobends whoever decided to take this to court. Almost all the cops in UK that I've come across so far have been very professional, understanding and polite - so it's a great shame when I hear things like this and makes me more sceptical about their nature!

Also, surely you can get away with claiming you were flashing your lights for some other reason... you saw a deer cross the road or somewhat?

JoelP

posted on 4/1/11 at 10:09 PM Reply With Quote
we've heard about this case because the old boy implicated himself. Im sure there have been many times when people get pulled for this but simply tell porkies, and go on their way because there is no way they can prove intent.

I once got pulled at double the speed limit, told them i was doing half what i was, and went on my way because they hadnt got any proof. Beware of implicating yourself, just think before you speak!

Beware! Bourettes is binfectious.

theduck