Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
<<  1    2  >>
New Topic New Reply
Author: Subject: Will I fit in a standard locost?
Blades

posted on 23/2/11 at 04:18 AM Reply With Quote
Will I fit in a standard locost?

This is my first post, so I'll introduce my self first

I'm a newbie from the north east, looking to build a Locost 7.
I've been a fan of lotus 7 type cars for years, and the idea of building one to your own specification is really cool.

Anyway, to the point.
I understand there isn't a great deal of space in a Locost, and you can usually get around some issues by building a wider chassis.
BUT, to me, the chassis fabrication seems like the most daunting part of the build, and I was considering buying one pre-assembled from eBay.

I'm not too tall, I'm only about 6' but, I'm worried I'll be too wide and the foot space may be too small(less worried about the feet, just didn't want to focus entirely on the waist)
I'm "big boned" and have a 44-46" waist and size 13 feet.
Would a standard locost chassis be big enough to accommodate a porker like me? Or should I consider contacting a company that makes locost chassis and see what they can do?
Would a removable steering wheel and less padded seat be enough to squeeze in?
The only 7 I have ever been in was an old K-series Caterham, and that was before I got this big.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

stevegough

posted on 23/2/11 at 06:13 AM Reply With Quote
Hiya, Blades! first up, let me extend a great big welcome to you from LCB (which is, incidentally, the best Kit car forum around!).

To answer your question, I have a Luego Locost which at 5ft9, 34" waist, size 8 shoes (feet are also a big consideration - the pedal area can also be a bit tight, too!) and 11 stone I am a good fit in it - the car is the same dimensions as the original 'book' chassis.