Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Pinto Timing HELP
couch22k

posted on 28/4/11 at 06:19 PM Reply With Quote
Pinto Timing HELP

Right, after posting this post I have now had a new pito engine built with a spare 205 block I had.

Got it all back in today and when i came to time it up I got a little confused. It started up not to bad and sounds spot on, but when I put the timing light on I got a little confused.

On the pulley there are the standerd 4/5 marks for TDC 4/8/12 degree but about 35/40mm to the right of the marks(clockwise) there is a single mark that is what is seems to be timed to.

Im not sure if this was there before or if its been added. As I have very little mechanical knowledge I dont want to start moving the dizzy to much.

Tried getting hold of the builder but it was to late and hes not back in till Tue and I was hoping to run it in a little this weekend.

Any help would be appreciated

Steve

jacko

posted on 28/4/11 at 06:26 PM Reply With Quote
If its like mine i put another mark at 36% its so when i use a strobe lamp i can set the timing up.
What i do is rev the engine to 3000rpm and the dizzy should line up with this mark
Jacko

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
couch22k

posted on 28/4/11 at 06:30 PM Reply With Quote
quote:
Originally posted by jacko
If its like mine i put another mark at 36% its so when i use a strobe lamp i can set the timing up.
What i do is rev the engine to 3000rpm and the dizzy should line up with this mark
Jacko

Cheers Jacko

So the builder put this mark on, will it be TDC??

If it sounds sweet enough do you think it will be ok to put a few miles on it this weekend.

Steve

marcjagman

posted on 28/4/11 at 06:33 PM Reply With Quote
If it starts, runs and ticks over okay then it probably is set correctly.
jacko

posted on 28/4/11 at 06:35 PM Reply With Quote