Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Popping on deceleration
David_17

posted on 11/5/11 at 08:04 PM Reply With Quote
Popping on deceleration

Another megasquirt question (I'm still learning - lol)

If i build the revs up then let the throttle go, as the revs slow down i get lean popping.

If i do the same, but gently let the throttle down, it's fine.

Any tips, to point me in the right direction?

Cheers

Here's a quick video of the car...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cdQxN03XQzA

[Edited on 11/5/11 by David_17]

madteg

posted on 11/5/11 at 08:13 PM Reply With Quote
I know this does not make sence but i had my car rolling roaded and the last thing done was the popping on overun. All they did was richen the bottom line up till it stopped, i have now weakened it of a bit to make it pop a bit.
scudderfish

posted on 11/5/11 at 08:23 PM Reply With Quote
Is there anything wrong with popping on overrun?

stevebubs

posted on 11/5/11 at 08:38 PM Reply With Quote
As per MadTeg - richen up the zero load sites for the revs it's popping at...
RazMan

posted on 11/5/11 at 08:40 PM Reply With Quote
If you have an AFR gauge then take a look at the overun readings - I bet they will be quite lean. Just bung an extra drop of fuel in and you will soon be running quiet again.

Cheers,
Raz

When thinking outside the box doesn't work any more, it's time to build a new box

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
martyn_16v

posted on 11/5/11 at 09:22 PM Reply With Quote
Rather than richening it and wasting a bit of fuel, just turn on the overrun fuel cut. No fuel at all = no popping
martyn_16v

posted on 11/5/11 at 09:27 PM Reply With Quote
Oh, and you probably need more ignition advance at really low load as well. You can run a lot more than you'd think at really low MAP, 40-45deg isn't unusual.
wilkingj

posted on 11/5/11 at 09:42 PM Reply With Quote