Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: RSJ Selection, Structural Engineer Invoice
FASTdan

posted on 17/10/11 at 01:30 PM Reply With Quote
RSJ Selection, Structural Engineer Invoice

As we have a wealth of experience on here in all fields just wondered what people thought of this price....

Basically we're pulling a wall down in our new house, supporting wall and therefore needs the usual steel RSJ. I've just had the invoice through from the structural engineer who was employed to size said beam (someone the architect used so I wasnt involved in finding this service). Price £180.

Does this sound normal to anyone who's had experience in this? I'm a mechanical engineer myself, and can therefore say with reasonable assurance (having skimmed the calc sheet myself) that it cant have taken more than an hour all in. I'd go as far as to say it may even have been a case of banging a couple of inputs into a standard spreadsheet.

I appreciate the level of responsibility, liability etc so perhaps it is the norm? Just seems a lot regardless.

NEW danST WEBSITE NOW LIVE! Bike carbs, throttle bodies and more......

http://www.danstengineering.co.uk/

NOTE:This user is registered as a LocostBuilders trader and may offer commercial services to other users
MikeFellows

posted on 17/10/11 at 01:59 PM Reply With Quote
I paid £225 6 years ago - this was for 2 RSJ and included a site vist, so £180 doesnt seem over the odds

I agree with your statement though - probably takes him 10 mins in a pre setup spreadsheet, your paying for his qualifications/experience too

mcerd1

posted on 17/10/11 at 02:09 PM Reply With Quote
quote:
Originally posted by MikeFellows
...your paying for his qualifications/experience too

...and his insurance

[Edited on 17/10/2011 by mcerd1]

-

tegwin

posted on 17/10/11 at 02:10 PM Reply With Quote