Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Bike Engine info required
Franksx2005

posted on 14/12/11 at 06:23 PM Reply With Quote
Bike Engine info required

Im new to the world of kit cars and looking to build one in the not to distant future. Im in the process of doing a bit of research and would love some advice.

I was originally looking to go down the rout of a CA18DET or SR20DET as ive had a lot to do with 200sx's but after some thought i have decided to go for a bike engine.

What i would like to know is what is the best bike engine to go for taking into account cost, reliability and of course power.

I think a carbed engine such as the early R1 would be ideal.

What do you think

Thanks

Frank

davestarck

posted on 14/12/11 at 06:30 PM Reply With Quote
Hi Frank

Just buy mine instead, lot less hassle!!

http://www.pistonheads.com/sales/3468628.htm

Hellfire

posted on 14/12/11 at 06:52 PM Reply With Quote
Frank, firstly welcome to the madhouse! Secondly, what sort of use do you want the car for?

Phil

Custardpants

posted on 14/12/11 at 07:50 PM Reply With Quote
As above - a good tuned CEC will be a more tactile road car - and a better choice if you're going to just use the car on normal roads. I'd go bike engine for track or if you have some truly great and quiet roads near you where you can rev the nuts off it. My busa engine only comes alive when the car is driven as designed - which only really possible on a good and very quiet road - otherwise its just hard work and not particularly smooth.
adithorp

posted on 14/12/11 at 09:02 PM Reply With Quote
quote:
Originally posted by Custardpants