Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
<<  1    2  >>
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Supercharger whoops!
ChrisW

posted on 26/4/12 at 11:30 PM Reply With Quote
Supercharger whoops!

Today the bits of metal I ordered to make up a frame to rest my supercharger in the hydraulic press turned up. Great I thought, I can finally get on with the rebuild.

So, I merrily cut up the metal bars and set the 'charger up in the press ready to push out the rotors. Bit of pressure, nothing moving.... bit more pressure, nothing, little more and crack.

Now, I'm no expert on superchargers, but I don't think this is going to work again:

supercharger broken
supercharger broken

So, question is, what do I do now?

The supercharger is a TRD unit designed as a direct bolt-on fitment to US spec Toyota Camrys. They're very difficult to come by and fetch big money, especially on this site of the pond, so finding another 'for parts' isn't going to happen. But, it's well known that it's an Eaton M62 unit in a custom housing that fits in place of the inlet manifold.

Now, that said, as it's an 'M62' will the rotor pack and (more importantly) the alloy plate be the same in all M62's? In other words, if I buy a replacement unit from a Mercedes which are a lot easier to come by will I be able to swap the internals over?

Any other clues as to how to solve this problem appreciated. I won't say how much I paid for this very rare bit of kit, or how long I was looking before I found this one, but lets just say I'll be gutted if it's a dead loss!

Chris

[Edited on 26/4/2012 by ChrisW]

My gaff my rules

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
Autosri

posted on 27/4/12 at 12:24 AM Reply With Quote
what about chemical metal or drilling an tapping a load of fixing and some sealer as i guess thats not a structural mounting but more a inlet flange
Canada EH!

posted on 27/4/12 at 12:54 AM Reply With Quote