Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Reply
Author: Subject: MeV Excocet or Mac 1 - which would you choose?
Jumbo

posted on 16/9/12 at 11:13 AM Reply With Quote
MeV Excocet or Mac 1 - which would you choose?

I know this is similar to other threads but would like opinions from hopefully other owners and if nothing else other enthusiasts, the nice choice I have are:

MEV Exocet
Built and sva'd this year
Mx5 engine and parts (as usual)
Nothing over the top build wise e.g. NOT poly bushed when swapping parts so wouldn't say built with total quality in mind more of a cae of getting it finished
Approx £4600

Or

MAC 1
Built 2005
Pinto 2.1 with oil cooler, shallow sump, twin 40's
Aero screen, push button start, same owner for 5 years, tax and mot'd
Approx £4200

Overall comes down to personal choice I know, contributing factors are I'm no engineer so something easy to manage, re sale value (apologises to say this) and over all GRIN FACTOR!!!

So what's it to be guys, look forward to your thoughts and comments please.

Slimy38

posted on 16/9/12 at 11:37 AM Reply With Quote
Just one thought. The MAC 1 has been owned and run for a few years, so all the 'niggles' that come with new built cars will have been found and fixed, the carbs will be reasonably set up, it'll be pretty much drive away. The Exocet being a newly finished build may not have been run as much, so may have a few things that'll crawl out the woodwork in the next 12 months. As an example, you mentioned they've not touched the bushes? Perhaps they might need changing soon.
Jumbo

posted on 16/9/12 at 11:42 AM Reply With Quote
Good call, I know for a fact that the car hasn't been ran very much at all since the test, 8 miles to be precise!!
sdh2903

posted on 16/9/12 at 11:56 AM Reply With Quote
A very individual opinion but I think the exocets are fugly. MAC 1 gets my vote and when you get bored Chuck a zetec in it.

sdh2903

posted on 16/9/12 at 12:01 PM Reply With Quote